Day 28 – Thirty Days of Thanks

Today’s five thankful things:

1. quiet mornings – Having time after hubby goes to work, to read a bit, say a prayer, play a word in a scrabble game, then make a few phone calls before really getting things rolling is nice. School will be starting before too long, so I truly appreciate these calm mornings.

2. colored thread – my daughter Rachel uses carefully chosen colors of threads to knot intricate “friendship bracelets.” She shared her knack for this skill with visiting friends today, and her generosity with the time and embroidery thread were very appreciated!

3. adoptive parents – as we spent the day with two lovely young ladies, I thought of friends Kim and Angia, both of whom have wonderful children who were born across the ocean. Our two new friends, teenage girls born in Haiti, gave us a reason to visit Ivanhoe’s, always something else to be thankful for. Sharing bits of life helped me remember so much that we take for granted each day!

4. hobbies and games – I love it that my husband has found a way to be involved with his gaming hobby as a super-volunteer, the “Community Coordinator” for Chronicle City, located in England. This may not involve international travel, but it will give him a role in  a booth where he’ll be helping at a large convention Indianapolis. (It’s just a few weeks away!)

5. things to do – I wasn’t certain what to call this “thing of thanks,” but the best way to explain it is to share from a piece I was reading this morning (during that start-of-the-day space). The piece was written by blogger Trevis Gleason, a writer/speaker I started following about six years ago. He usually has a realistic but upbeat take on dealing with this disease. As a former professional chef, he now finds himself with numbers of new challenges each day. He’s not Mr. Optimist, but he isn’t pessimistic either (usually). Today’s message helped me think and pray and contemplate, and it still helped me realize that there are indeed things I’m thankful for. He said it best in his final statement: “We do what we do until we can no longer do it… then we find something else to do.” I’m thankful that God is finding ways to give me “something else to do.”

Author: Angie

I am a wife, a mother, a writer and a child of God. Since 1997, I've lived with multiple sclerosis, and I find that when life slows down, I am able to see more of the lessons that God has for me to learn.

Leave a comment