Back in the classroom again…

It’s been a decade since I’ve been in a classroom on the “student” side of things… I know so much has changed! In just a week (eight days, actually) I’ll be stepping out in that direction.

Even though I don’t foresee myself entering an elementary or middle school classroom in the near future, I will be taking six hours of coursework to renew my license by spring. But I’m really excited, as the four hour class I’m taking this semester is a “professional writing” class, a senior level course about freelance writing. My textbook is ordered (and shipped, Amazon says); I have a folder with paper, pen and colored highlighters; and I have the syllabus printed out.  And I know where the class is, down to the room number. (Those who knew me during school years will likely not be shocked. 🙂 )

It’s neat to see how God uses little snippets of our past to make things work in His Master Lesson Plan…I had thought I would need to take Education courses for my license renewal, but my teaching license is for elementary with middle school endorsementts in Science and Language Arts.  I ended up teaching middle school science, even though I first thought I would teach English.  So even though my teaching experience doesn’t lean toward language arts, those classes are still viable for credits I can use.  A requirement this semester will be for writings to be submitted to a publisher – talk about impetus!

I love to learn, I enjoy writing, and I like challenges, but… why am I already so jittery? I know I don’t foresee my own future and education, but there is so much nobody can foresee… looks like my prayer life needs to go on overdrive, as I pray to the Omnicient, Omnipresent one. He DOES know what life holds and will give wisdom to those who ask and listen for His still, small voice.  I’m just not always the best listener.  (Something else for me to learn, eh?)

4 Comments

  1. T.R. said,

    August 23, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I am so excited you are taking this class. Your daughters and I will be here to support you and give you time to do your homework and write. Love ya!

    • Angie said,

      August 23, 2010 at 4:21 pm

      Thank you, Sweetie – I’ll try to not make you and the girls regret your support. 🙂

  2. Dad said,

    August 28, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Angie,
    I’m happy that you are going to take this class as you are truly gifted in expressing yourself in your writing. Mom and I have saved all of your blogs, and I still re-read the one you wrote about Grandma occasionally. I know that you will be “stretched” to do all the work this class will require, but you work best under pressure:)
    Dad

    • Angie said,

      August 28, 2010 at 10:50 am

      Thanks, Dad – I have my former blog posts too, and I know the 70 or so former blog vignettes will give me a lot that of matierial and ideas for class. “Lessons from my grandmother” is still one of my very favorites!

      Yes, I do work a little better under pressure, don’t I? 😉

      Love you!
      ~Angie


Leave a Reply

