But I’m not supposed to *enjoy* homework, they say…

Alright, I finished my third devotional piece, part of this week’s homework, and I loved doing it!  Yes, I suppose it is “work,” but working my mind, heart, and soul is something I can and should do.  There are a few problems with this, though (if you could call them “problems”):

-A  visiting friend said last evening, “You ENJOY homework?  What a nerd.”  I let him know that I was guilty as charged, and this has been a label for a number of decades.  But the thing is, this didn’t feel like HOMEWORK.  In college, this wasn’t often the feeling.  I loved teaching, but this is actually both similar and different.

-I was happiest with my third entry, though I really liked all three.  The third will be the only one that will likely tempt my own tears, but it’s not very long, so I should manage.  (I’ll read them in class, where we also critique them as a group before turning them in.)

-Writing does make my mind work, and when I can’t get to sleep at night or I’m just awakening (before the alarm rings), words go through my head.  Two of my three pieces have been reprinted a number of times because of something I saw in my mind that I should change.

-One of the things that went through my head was a very rough outline of a book.  Arrgh!!  I’m not ready for that!  I always appreciated writing and thought it would be neat to be a “writer,” but I really never thought this would be me.  I really didn’t have that aspiration – most writers have journals and such, and I just don’t write that much by hand, so I could never got into this habit longterm.  (I know, a “blog” is a “web log,” which is, in effect, a journal.  Yeah, yeah.)

This isn’t nearly all that was racing around, and I do actually have other parts of homework that need finished this weekend, so I’ll stop spouting here.  And just in case any enquiring minds want to know, the three entries I wrote are the ones I first called, “The bamboo flute,” “Wild Hemlock and Queen Anne’s Lace,” and “Just call me ‘Grace.’”  The real titles I gave them are, “God’s instrument,” “The real thing,” and “A life of grace.”  This might change before Tuesday, but that’s why we have extra paper and ink, right?

2 Comments

  1. Serena said,

    September 7, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    A BOOK?! I’ll be happy to edit it for you WHEN the time comes… not if. 🙂

    • Angie said,

      September 10, 2010 at 10:45 am

      Thanks, Serena! The one in my head is a devotional… I’ll let you know if it happens, and if I can use your editing prowess. 🙂


Leave a Reply

