A spoonful of sugar

As I received an email today, my first official “ding letter,” so to speak, I couldn’t help but think of Mary Poppins. “A spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down,” she sang to the Banks children. How true this is.

The “sugar” (and medicine) read as follows: Our three editors reviewed [your article] collectively and have decided to set it free for other possible ministry opportunities.

We do appreciate your interest Angela, and look forwarded to considering your work in the future.

You know, “setting the article free” does sound a bit nicer than, “Nope. I don’t think so.”

T.R. and I had to chuckle as we were picturing Free Willy, swimming among the ocean waves, but I am going to look further.

I just had to share a bit there… I don’t plan to make a large “rejection slips” folder, but I don’t intend to delete this either. It’s nice to know that I’m “free” to do whichever I wish. And a Julie Andrews-inspired soundtrack doesn’t hurt.

[3:00 addendum: I just received my first writing-related check!  I have a radio script for a devotion that will be airing in February on “Fresh Perspectives” on WBCL.  It’s called “The Real Thing” and is about Queen Anne’s Lace and Wild Hemlock.  …I think God knew that one story was just set free and decided to help me smile. 🙂 ]

3 Comments

  1. Serena said,

    December 22, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Congratulations! I’d love to read it! 🙂

    • Angie said,

      December 22, 2010 at 1:04 pm

      ummm… congratulations for a ding letter? hmmm… 😉 If it is accepted anywhere, I’ll let you know!

      • Angie said,

        December 22, 2010 at 1:11 pm

        I just realized that you likely meant the radio script… after it’s aired, I’ll send you a like to hear it read! I really like the full written devotion with anecdote better, but I also received a “ding letter” for it just a couple of days ago, so I can email it for you to read. There are several places I can submit it. I also have two other devotions that are still being considered by the first publication, so I’m kind of waiting to hear about them.


Leave a Reply

