Thunderstorm thanks

I’m trying to recall the last time I was awakened by booming thunder, startled by flashes of lightening, then immediately breathed a huge prayer of thanks.  I’m coming up dry, much like our problem over the past months. The drought here has left our normally green grass various shades of beige, but on a more serious level, the usually robust corn crops look incredibly sad and curled. So when I heard the thunder and saw the lightening around 5 a.m., followed by a steady pitter-patter of rain, I knew what my number one thanks for the day would be.

Day 22 – today’s 5 things of thanks

1. waking up to the sound of rain – the accompanying thunder and lightening show was welcome, as it indicated real precipitation, something we’ve been praying for so fervently.

2. green grass – with the few sprinkles from last week, then today’s varied downpours, I really am seeing sprouts of green emerging. Beautiful! (I know that’s fast, but I really do think it’s happening.)

3.
safety during the storm – our power flickered, but strong winds and driving rains didn’t cause us harm. My dad was driving here and had to pull over at one point, but he stayed safe also.

4. nearby parents – we are both blessed to have our parents living nearby – less than an hour drive – and we are so thankful for the special parts they have in our lives!

5.
heirloom cherry tomatoes – the first cherry tomatoes we harvested yesterday are, quite seriously, the very best cherry tomatoes I have ever tasted. Really. In fact, I had two of them for dessert after supper tonight. A few of yesterday’s still remain in the kitchen (though not for long), and I am eagerly anticipating the ripening of the many green tomatoes currently in our garden.

Leave a Reply

