Day 30 of “30 Days of Thanks”

Wow… day thirty. I will be honest: I didn’t know whether I’d make it to this point, posting every day. This task has been a meaningful one, highlighting parts of life for which I am (or should be) thankful. Laundry day is here again, and those early blog conversations did help me realize what a blessing this is. Plants in our garden are thriving, and enjoying the cherry tomatoes with such a pop of sweet flavor, I now think of thanks rather than letting my mind wander elsewhere. Then I see my daughters’ fun t-shirts in the laundry, and they make me smile. I just glanced back though the past twenty-nine days of thanks, and I noticed that I frequently used the term “normal.” It’s interesting that this term has such varied definitions, depending on the context. My fear is that normalcy will lead to the taking for granted everyday miracles, beauty that surrounds us. I don’t think it’s a bad thing for blessings to be normalized, but the danger is that we dismiss the gift that they are. Clean laundry, legs that walk, fresh produce, morning rain, healing words where there was once hurt, a hug and a piece of pie…oh, and ice cream. We can’t forget ice cream. I am indeed blessed.

So what will the next thirty days bring? As for me, I won’t be posting a daily list on my blog. My daughter was right: “Mommy, you can’t just post a list. There will be descriptions. And paragraphs.” In my defense, I would be able to make a little bulleted list if I weren’t making it into a blog post. I have been looking for ways to make myself write, to do so meaningfully. With limited energy and time, I decided this blog would be such a task, and a way to keep the 30-day promise to readers.

In coming days, my plan will be to post at least biweekly, though I will try for weekly. More importantly, I have a small notebook that will become my “thank you” list. My handwriting is slow and drawn out, so this will be a bulleted, non-wordy list. (Yes, Rachel, I can do that. Really.)

As I wrap up this thirty day adventure, here is my final list:

Day 30 – 5 things for which I am quite thankful

1. naps– it’s rather amazing how a short (15 or 90 minutes) can recharge my internal battery. I appreciate them much more than I did as a young child!

2. optometrists – appropriately measured optical prescriptions can make such a difference! I was amazed anew as I watched our optometrist flip lenses while testing with our daughter today, to measure just the right adjustment for her new glasses.

3. twins – our girls may not always be thankful for this, but it is such a joy to watch our twins interact, to observe them planning together, creating worlds I don’t quite understand. Being a teenage girl isn’t easy, but having somebody alongside you (not Mom, of course) can make a difference. I remember wishing I had a sister at that stage in life…

4.
writing – it was such a pleasure to be involved in a Professional Writing course at Taylor, then a Creative Writing class in 2010-2011. That helped jumpstart me a bit, as I do enjoy the craft. This blog is one way to keep me writing with a purpose, and for that I am certainly thankful.

5.
encouraging words – words, both written and verbal, speak loudly to me. And comments left on a blog are all-the-more encouraging, as they don’t fade away. I was rather shocked earlier today when I noticed that this page had a number of “followers” – knowing that some people out there, only ten percent of whom I actually know, like what I write… that encourages me also.

So my encouragement to you, the reader: find something that may seem “normal,” and remember why it is worthy of thanks. Then find something that isn’t so normal, and see if it can be worthy of thanks also. Then the harder: find something you don’t particularly like, and see how it may earn thanks, too. And the hardest: what will you never be thankful for? (see yesterday’s post). Horrible things may never earn anything positive, and that’s okay… but what good can come of this? Be thankful for positive glimmers, and remember, “…we know that in sll things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28, NIV)

If you have a story of thanks you’d like to share, please do. I’ll bet somebody will hear it and will be thankful.

Leave a Reply

