My P.a.D. Day 13 – entry

I will have to admit – today’s poem isn’t actually one I wrote today. This was the day of the Barton Rees Pogue Poetry & Arts festival. The story behind my entry is that I worked for more than a month to refine my poem, finally picked up an entry form at the library, and prepared it to mail in. Right as I was filling out the new form, I saw that there was a theme… and poems didn’t have to follow this theme. Mine didn’t, but I decided to enter it anyhow – and the three winners did. But I was glad I had the chance to read mine, as that’s where my thoughts had been. (Many other people read great poems also!. What was really fun was that my husband also read a poem that he had written – it was great!) Now that we know they have a theme each year, we’ll find this out in March so that we have time to prepare.

My favorite thing about today was actually from the “arts” part of the competition. Our daughter Emily entered four of her clay dragons (and a turtle for good measure) in the “youth” part of the competition. Not only were her dragons phenomenal in design, with many compliments, but she won “best in show” in her division! This was in competition with high school AP art students.

Okay, enough about Em’s wonderful dragons… as promised, I’ll share my poem here.

Scars

M.S.
Multiple Sclerosis.
Many Scars.
a Misbehaving System is what I call it.
You can call it what you wish.

Cells that should kill germs harm others instead, and what do they leave behind?
Scars.
What do they take away?
Energy. Control. Ability. Freedom.
“It’s all in your head,” you say.
And I agree.

With scars in my head,
I sometimes wonder what’s left.
Besides scars.
But then I hear an inner voice, one of assurance:

“Scars are not alone. When you look, you’ll find unexpected gifts:
The gift of empathy to offer an ear to hear of invisible pain, filled with frustration and hard to see with the outer eye.
The gift of peace beyond understanding, easier to feel when busy-ness is forced aside and stillness found.
The gift of love you’ll feel as dear ones see through and beyond your scars, and the truest love, shown through one whose scars bring new life.”

M.S.
More than Scars.
That’s what I call it.
You can call it what you wish.

6 Comments

  1. T.R. said,

    April 13, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    Great job on your poem. Still cannot believe you convinced me to submit a poem. Thank you for encouraging my creative side.

    • Angie said,

      April 15, 2013 at 1:06 am

      Thanks, Sweetie – and your poem was wonderful! So glad you joined me in this adventure. ❤

  2. suebarber said,

    April 14, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    Lovely.

  3. Barbara Pickut said,

    April 15, 2013 at 12:35 am

    Thanks for the chance to read that–I like the building victorious tone. I have heard a couple favorite scar quotes I thought you might like. One was shared today, by Matt’s sister (who heard Martin Sheen tell the story)–A man was entering heaven, and St. Peter asked to see his scars. The man said he had none. St. Peter answered, “That’s too bad; there was nothing worth fighting for.” And the advertising slogan for OrthoIndy has been very moving to me. They have a “My scar means…” series of ads where patients share their stories. I say scars mean you have been wounded but also that you have healed. Wonder if they’d mind if a church borrowed that slogan for Easter sometime. Praying to see a tracheotomy scar someday.

    • Angie said,

      April 15, 2013 at 1:15 am

      Yes, Barbie, that will be the scar to see!! We’re praying also. Thanks for sharing the quotes. A personal quote you may enjoy: Fourteen years ago, I was a part of a small band. In practice one day, two of us royally messed up at the same place in a song (I think I was playing keyboard, he was on acoustic guitar). We stopped and looked at one another, and my comment was, “I have scars in MY brain – what’s your excuse?” 🙂 (wouldn’t use this one with most folks, but his sense of humor is such that I could…)

      • Barbara Pickut said,

        April 15, 2013 at 9:45 pm

        I like it! I love how humor can make scary things safer sometimes.


Leave a Reply

