Day 16 – Thirty Days of Thanks

Today’s Five Thankful Things

1. fishing on a quiet summer morning – This has a unique joy when it’s a special time with family, including young children who are just learning to fish. (not as quiet then, but fun memories are still made.)

2. no-bake cookies – These delicious treats of oatmeal, peanut butter, cocoa and such are truly fabulous. T.R. does a masterful job making them, and he has trained our daughter to create them just as expertly. They are particularly tasty when created with dark chocolate cocoa. (That makes them healthier, right?)

3. chicken pot pie – I was never horribly fond of these when I was younger, but that was likely because they came from the frozen food section at the grocery store. My sister-in-law makes this dish in a very tasty way, and a sometimes-picky daughter even comes back for second helpings.

4. young girls’ energy – As I listen to my daughters and nieces together (ages 6-17), it is fun to hear their laughter, banter, games, stories, songs… what a special time we have, and their energy seems endless.

5. brothers – A middle child, I wasn’t always thrilled with my two siblings. But as we’ve grown older (and sometimes wiser), I have truly come to appreciate my brothers, and I am so thankful that we are also friends. (Their wives help here quite a bit, I’m sure!)

Leave a Reply

