Day 17 – Thirty Days of Thanks

Today’s 5 thankful things

1. books – for our family trip time, I decided to take 3 “just started” books from my nightstand, and I love being able to curl up to a good book. The computer comes out once or so a day, but reading from the printed page is so valued.

2. “Equality” has come a long way! – I finished the first book yesterday, and I’m so glad I did. This biography of Frederick Douglass was the first book published by Rachael Phillips, who I’m so blessed to call a friend. I’ll be quite honest in that I had only heard of Frederick Douglass as a line in history books. But hearing the story of little Freddie, the boy slave, and his life story was inspiring. The reading level is appropriate for upper elementary or middle grade children –or adults!- to get a feel for what slavery was and the vision and sacrifice of Frederick Douglass.

3. air conditioning – I’ve mentioned it before, but as the outdoor temps reach into the 90’s (feeling hotter when there is high humidity or no shade), I am so thankful for air conditioning that keeps the air temperature manageable! Heat is the “kryptonite” of many with MS, and it affects me more than I’d have imagined.

4. fresh blueberries – picked by family members (in a patch that I WISH I could pick berries from, but see number three above). Mmmmm!

5. the gift of time – when a group that doesn’t gather too often comes together for a number of days, this “gift of time” is more valuable than it seems at first. Being able to share time together with parents, siblings, children, nieces and nephews is truly priceless.

Leave a Reply

