Day 30 – Thirty Days of Thanks

It’s hard to believe July is coming to an end, making this the final day of my journey. Last year, my mother’s experience with cancer and treatment had her facing each day listing “five things she was thankful for” in a little journal. Mom’s resilience and encouragement in the midst of icky times led me to ponder myself. Life is full of tough stuff, of difficult junk – loss of health or friendships or abilities. BUT – what I have found during these “thirty days” is that I can always find at least five things to be thankful for. And as I spend my time celebrating the positive, focusing on God’s blessings, life is a happier place. So rather than having five new “things of thanks,” I’ll share here five of my top “thankful things” throughout this month. So here we go:

5 things of July thanks:

1. National ice cream month – About half of my daily thankful things was some type of ice cream – what a wonderful thing to celebrate every July!

2. the garden – fresh veggies from our garden are awesome! There’s no tomato like a fresh tomato.

3. medical things – from a new needle-free MS medication to a talented and caring neurologist to physical therapy helpers, I am so blessed.

4. my family – my husband and daughters are incredibly special in so many ways. I love you, T.R., Emily and Rachel! My parents are also such an important part of life. You’re so special in so many ways!

5. faith – Our God is so wonderful, and to know He cares about me is still overwhelming. God’s love is amazing – and I get to be a part of this adventure!

When writing to the early believers, Paul stated it this way in first Thessalonians 5:16-18: “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” So giving thanks for fresh tomatoes but also in the midst of loss… that is where I pray God will help me grow.

2 Comments

  1. Ruth said,

    August 1, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    I enjoyed your 30 days of thanks, thank you for sharing them with us 🙂

    • Angie said,

      August 1, 2013 at 5:27 pm

      Thanks, Ruth! I enjoying seeing your daily photos… don’t often have chance to comment, but I -see- the things you’re thankful for each day. 🙂


Leave a Reply

