Day 7 – 30 Days of Thanks – chocolate day!

Some holidays are printed on the calendar, while I stumble upon others and wonder how it is that this is new to me. Today is one of those days. Chocolate Day?! How was I unaware of this? Granted, July 7 is listed simply as “Chocolate Day,” while “National Chocolate Day” is marked on October 28, and World Chocolate Day on September 4. Never mind there – a holiday certainly isn’t needed to celebrate this ambrosia that is such an esteemed part: of life. So what is there to be thankful for today? Do we really need to ask?

5 things I’m thankful for today:

1. Chocolate in general – a whiff, a bite a taste, even a picture of the beautiful indulgence is enough to lighten the mood. And awaken the tastebuds, if they need.

2. Chocolate factoryDebrand’s  is in nearby Ft. Wayne, and to see the artistry that goes behind their beautiful confection adds to the intense flavor. Beautiful! And flavorful, to say the least.

3. Chocolate milk – Yes, I often chose this as a beverage with school lunch in my younger years, but adding a taste of chocolate to milk at fun family dinners adds a smile also. (We aren’t so fond of soda, but the occasional glass of chocolate milk is indeed appreciated by all.)

4. Hot cocoa – during the colder times of year (no Polar Vortex required), there are few beverages so welcome as a mug of hot cocoa! For me, with marshmallows, please.

5. Cross-cultural chocolate – a fun way to learn about other countries is through their chocolates! The
first cacao was consumed in South America, and today many of the finest chocolates are produced in Western Europe. My loving brother Matt purchased a “chocolates of the world” pack for a birthday a few years ago… and my husband knows a souvenir I will always appreciate.

There is so much I didn’t mention – the health benefits of this special treat, the role of chocolate in literature, the special role of the Hershey bar in campfire cookouts… and this list goes on. I think I hear some girl scout cookies in the freezer calling my name… I’ll be back tomorrow. 🙂
  

3 Comments

  1. July 7, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    I am thankful for dark chocolate!!


Leave a Reply

