Day 4 – 30 Days of Thanks – Proud to be an American!

july 4

On July 4, it isn’t hard to see where my “thank you” list will come from. Our nation, like all others, is far from perfect, but living in America is a blessing in many ways!

5 Reasons I’m Thankful to Be an American

  • 1. Basic Freedoms – I am so thankful that the law of our land gives freedoms every day – where I can go, where I can live, where I can worship… these freedoms aren’t ones shared across the world, and I value the sacrifices that have made this freedom real.
  • 2. Curb cuts – Simply put, I am thankful that our country has accessibility laws about sidewalks and entrances. They help a person using a cane, walker, or wheelchair enter various locations. (More will come here later this month!) I know that America does a better job here than many other nations – so thank you, America!
  • 3. July 4 Fireworks – Celebrating together is fun – we aren’t personally thrilled with lighting our own pyrotechnics, but the celebration in the sky is beautiful and fun to see! lOur neighbors arrange a wonderful show on the night of the fourth, and we get to view this from our back yard. Lovely!
  • 4. Freedom of Religion – I know this country’s roots were planted during times of religious persecution, and I think of William Penn in the 1600’s, known supporting the concept of religious freedom. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freedom_of_religion . I hear of conflicts oversees, and I am grateful that our struggles are not on that level.
  • 5, Wide Richness of Cultures in One Country – I love the fact that within our single nation, we house a beautiful quiltwork of culture. It is such a blessing to experience these pieces of our nation’s story as we travel or meet new friends all within our borders.

    So Happy Independence Day to my American friends, and Happy 40th birthday to my British friend Ruth. (I let her know that I can’t join her at their party at the park, but there will be celebration fireworks here “over the pond,” and I’ll try getting a photo of one in her honor. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

