Day 6 – 30 Days of Thanks – Games and such

IMG_6840

All of these games were played during our long weekend with our Canadian friends. Four or five of them are ones I played, but we all enjoyed “Timbits.” 🙂

My husband, an amazing fellow who wears many hats, spent time this morning reflecting on something he values: play. His own blog, www.freelancehight.com, focuses on his freelance work in the game industry, and after reading of his thoughts,  I knew where today’s thankful list needed to stem from.

5 Reasons I’m Thankful for Play:

  1. Childhood connections – Playing games of all sorts can help connect across generations, can cut through boundaries that seemed to be there. With Kids Hope, this is often a connection point between an adult mentor and a shy chid.
  1. Friend sharing times – Time for playing games gives a great reason to gather! This is especially nice for less extroverted folk who would not otherwise plan elaborate social engagements. <cough, cough…>
  1. Equal ground – I’ve never been an athlete, so that hasn’t changed, but there are physical limitations that I have..… As such, card or board games are a nice way for me to interact in an activity without feeling or looking like a clumsy buffoon. 😉
  1. Variety – I appreciate how a weekend of playing games holds so much variety! I really enjoy card games like Euchre, but board games have grown tremendously since I was young (and my brother always beat me at Monopoly). Games like Quilt Show open the world of board games up to a new group of friends.
  1. Memory-making – The activity of playing games together does help make special memories, and for that I am indeed thankful!
Leave a Reply

