yDay 8 – 30 Days of Thanks – Needles and more

One day each month, I get to be “needled,” you could say. It has been almost eighteen years since I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis, and during that time, I have referred to myself as the “poster child of MS injectable therapies.” (At that time, there were only four, and I had spent significant time on each of them.) There are now more than ten different therapies, and I have added two more to that first list of four.

So why one day each month? My medication, Tysabri, is administered once a month… I’ll explain more in today’s thankful list.

5 Things I’ve learned to be thankful for due to MS treatment:

  1. Neurology professionals – The doctors and other professionals who help treat this disease are so appreciated!
  2. Tysabri –
    FullSizeRender

    Carma decided we should celebrate my 100th Tysabri infusion

    Of the medications we have tried this monthly medication has done a better job slowing disease progression than the previous ones did. As such, we just found in May that it was 100th infusion month… I joked in April that we would need to celebrate this in May. I actually did bring in a “100” cake to share, but the special nurse with whom I had spoken did put up a sign. 😊
  1. Nurses! – I first learned to appreciate nurses when growing up in the home of a doctor and nurse, but I have gained greater appreciation as I’ve watched them start an infusion and set up an IV infusion during that monthly time.
  1. MRI machine – Today wasn’t an MRI day (this was a month mri of msbrainago), but I am indeed thankful that a doctor can see inside my brain and spine without making an incision.
  1. Needles – I’m the first to admit that I am not fond of needles. (Talking about medical use, not embroidery.) But you know what? I am thankful that medication can be sent straight into the bloodstream! How cool is that?! If I can close my eyes as a trained nurse does the tough part, all the better.

http://www.fwnc.com/

Leave a Reply

