Day 15 – Thirty Days of Thanks – Different beach view

While growing up, I enjoyed times we would go to a “beach,” those these moments usually included a sandy area beside a small lake. I may swim a bit, but I would always look for shells, rocks, or other treasures.  Even when I graduated to occasional saltwater visits, my goal was the same: shells, perhaps? Wading along the waves was fun also, and I loved observing the natural wonders that culminate with winds, currents, and wildlife.

TR Angie beach chair

T.R. and I “combed the beach” together with the beach-friendly chair.

As our family time near Lake Michigan neared its close, T.R. and I were able to visit the beach. This may seem like a regular occurrence to many of you, but you have to realize that a regular cane, walker or wheelchair cannot manage travel on a sandy beach. Enter the “beach wheelchair,” one with tires made just for such an excursion. And this leads to today’s list:

5 Bits of Beach-related Thanks

  1. Calming sounds of water – I love the sounds of the lapping IMG_7012waves, punctuated by the occasional gull.
  1. Patient husband who wrestled successfully with the chair – T.R. was able to conquer the chair that doesn’t like to turn so that we could visit the shore together.TR Angie beach
  1. Shells –
    Angie shells

    admiring the lovely shells!

    He gleaned several small shells for me from the sand… we knew I wasn’t going to be crawling on the beach then successfully standing back up, so T.R. brought several shells my way. (They came home with me, of course. 🙂 )

  1. Beach sunsets – This wasn’t the same day we rented the chair, but we were able to see the sunset from the boardwalk in front of the beach.
  1. New family memories – Because heat and MS do not coexist kindly, I know that I will never be with T.R. and thefootprints girls on a Florida beach, but it was special to watch as my husband and daughters traipsed through the sand. Special memories won’t be washing away as quickly as the sand, I am certain!
Leave a Reply

