Day 16 – Thirty Days of Thanks – Home Sweet Home

home sweet home

If you have been following my “Thirty Days of Thanks,” you’ve likely noted that the thirty days haven’t been all in a row. One thing I have been valuing a great deal is time with family and friends, so particularly when we had opportunities for family times that won’t be able to be replicated until Thanksgiving, I decided that “30 Days of Thanks” would spread out during the summer, and I’ll complete my list before my daughters’ school starts in August. I’ve been thankful along the way, and I’ll resume my daily ponderings now. 🙂

As we’re all home now and getting back into the swing of things here, I even am more overcome with reasons I have for “everyday thanks.” Dorothy was indeed correct when she clicked together the heels of those ruby slippers: “There’s no place like home.”

5 things I’m thankful for at our own home:

  1. Our own beds – What a lovely thing it is to sleep in our own bed, with our own sheets and pillows!
  1. Fully stocked kitchen – I take for granted, after a while, that we have plates and bowls and silverware and pots and pans and such… how blessed we are!
  1. Growing garden – How welcome it was to find that our garden took advantage of the rains that came while we were away… we’ll be enjoying fresh green beans with tonight’s supper, in fact.
  1. Comfy chair – It’s fine (and enjoyable!) to share furniture with others when about 20 people are sharing a living area, but it sure is nice to sit back in a comfy recliner.
  1. Welcome stillness – As an “introvert with extrovert tendencies,” I enjoyed last week but am really appreciating the peace and quiet of our small-town life.

Many thanks indeed!

Leave a Reply

