Day 17 – Thirty Days of Thanks – School Supply Ponderings

school suppliesBack-to-school sales may be a little disconcerting, as summer is still very much here, but the girls and I feel a certain giddiness when combing through newspaper sale inserts, creating lists of things we think are needed. When the girls were in Kindergarten, I not only had a detailed list from the school, but I followed the teacher’s suggestions and labeled every crayon, every pencil, each glue stick and pair of tiny scissors… it was time consuming indeed. As a mother, though, I felt a sense of accomplishment when a labeled backpack was properly prepared, including obligatory boxes of tissue. They’re sixteen now, and high schoolers don’t exactly have that list. Mommy doesn’t label the bits of things, but Mom and Dad get to have a nice time finding the best bargains in folders, binders, paper and such.

So after we returned from vacation, we were off to the store to stock up on school supplies. This is a great time of year to pick up needed items, even if you’re not in school yourself! How so? Take a look at today’s little list:

5 things I’m thankful for when shopping during back-to-school time:

  1. School is anticipated excitedly – Even though there isn’t the enthusiastic expectation that there was a decade ago, both younger and more seasoned students start with a clean slate (or a blank screen, I guess you’d say). Two decades ago, I viewed this from a teacher standpoint, and it’s fun to see it from the student side now.
  1. sharpiesColored sharpies! – I like to label things with permanent marker, and my favorite brand is “Sharpie.” During this time of year, not only are sharpies on sale, but there are sets of colored sharpies that didn’t used to exist… this is the perfect time for me to replenish my marker set.
  1. crayons1New crayons, too – My very artistic daughter was able to purchase a set of 120 crayons. Crayola, of course, and all different colors… several that were new, like “outer space” (really dark blue) or “mac and cheese” (the color of the Kraft type, not the real stuff, I’m afraid). Those won’t be coming to school, but she is taking an art class, so who knows? (I thought my box of 32 had a lot. Little did I know.)
  1. Folder and binder bargains – Folders and 3-ring binders can be pricey during the rest of the year, but the price is at least halved in late July and early August. The same is true with loose leaf paper and notebooks – it’s time to stock up!
  1. Thankful for all of this – Considering the “school supplies” that would have been available when my parents and grandparents went to school (some only through eighth grade), I am a bit overwhelmed. Wow – what abundance we have! I hope that I can keep this in mind as the pencils dull and the markers fade. We are so blessed!
Leave a Reply

