30 Days of Thanks – Day 22 – more “everyday” thanks

thankful2

This summer continues to be filled with lots of special moments. With yesterday’s celebration of 25 years of the ADA, it brings to mind some of the things I take for granted.

Day 22 – More everyday thanks

  1. Canvas bags – We have myriads of canvas bags, most with ads or messages written on them. But no matter what they say on the outside, I love being able to carry items in a sturdy way. Many of our bags have fun memories attached… bonus indeed. 🙂

  1. suitcase
    Suitcases with wheels – I remember going to camp as a child, bringing a hard suitcase that I lifted and carried. Even a small carry-on is now easy to roll along – how nice!
  1. Lists – I find more and more that things I’m sure I’ll remember… well, I remember them tomorrow. Maybe. So I am very thankful for lists!
  1. Greater cultural acceptance of disability – T.R. shared with me a nice example of this. Take a look here at a lovely image of an aunt and her niece… the most telling thing to me is that the aunt may be in a wheelchair, but this fact is not celebrated or degraded. It just IS. And that is beautiful. (After yesterday’s celebration, this was particularly telling.)

5. E-mail – I recall when I was in college and used email for the first time – it was winter 1992. I was rather amazed. Then in 1994, During my first year of teaching, my school became connected to the Internet… and it was my privilege to show students in my science class the magic of e-mail. When we typed a question to “Bill Nye the Science Guy” then received a response the next day, this was a special kind of magic. Today, I’m still amazed when I look at the screen of my “inbox,” viewing the list of places these messages are from, when they were sent, and pondering the “magic” of today’s technology.

Leave a Reply

