Thirty Days of Thanks – Day 25 – bits of heritage in sweet momentoes

thankful2

Spending a few days with my parents, there have been special moments of sharing. After Mom pointed out an embroidered piece hanging in the guest room where I was staying, she shared some fun bits, most of which I hadn’t realized before.

So this will lead to my list for today:

5 pieces of family heritage I am thankful for:

  1. Emma Wuethrich embroidery

    stitched by Great-great Aunt Emma, 1933

    Strong family roots – The loving, committed family roots of my parents continue to enrich our lives, as I hear stories of relatives of previous generations. The piece hanging on the wall was embroidered by Emma Wuethrich, unmarried sister of my great grandfather. Knowing that she wouldn’t have attended formal schooling for very many years, I can appreciate her sunny outlook and overlook the misplaced apostrophe. (I know college graduates who still haven’t mastered this punctuation skill.)
  1. NickeeFamily pets – When in the second grade, I received a sweet little poodle, “Nickee.” He was my very special friend, and he stayed around until he passed away when I was in college. Mom showed me a shelf where she has little animal statues, and this is one she has in honor of my little fellow… this brought a smile to my face today.
  1. cooler Dad won at a high school "sock hop'

    cooler Dad won at a high school “sock hop’

    Proof of parents’ youth – I have seen this Coca-Cola cooler in the past, but I didn’t realize until Mom told me that this is a cooler Dad received as a prize at a high school “sock hop.” This reminded me of two things: Dad was indeed young once, and (more of a surprise) he attended high school dances! 🙂
  1. desk Dad purchased for Mom while he was in Vietnam

    desk Dad purchased for Mom while he was in Vietnam

    Story behind the ornate desk – There is a gorgeously carved desk where Mom has always kept stationery and cards, and I knew it was “from Vietnam,” but I learned a little more about it today. At one point during Dad’s year in Vietnam, he had purchased this desk in Okinawa. It was then shipped to Mom in Indiana (she thinks for her birthday), as Dad knew this was the type of thing she’d like. He was right.
  1. Legacy still lives – During my few days here, I have gotten to see, up close and personal, how both of my parents still hold strong to the values of faith, love and commitment. I love you. Dad and Mom!
    Lyons anniversary pic

    Mom and Dad at the recent 50th anniversary celebtration

    (note: my last five “thankful” posts will come Monday and beyond, as this weekend I will not have the opportunity to post. Why? You’ll see next week!)
Leave a Reply

