Thirty Days of Thanks – Day 27 – unlikely “thanks

thankful2

As I said in the header, today will be a day of “unlikely thanks.” You’ll see what I mean…

1. Unexpectedly patient husband in the middle of the night – I had felt “a little under the weather” Wednesday afternoon, but I hadn’t realized things would escalate, making it hard for this MS girl’s legs to even think about moving. So T.R. got to help more than he may have expected when we turned in for the night. Glad we’ve made it through! (When somebody with MS has a fever, the internal heat sort of messes things up. Returning to normal temperature later fixes things, so legs and such work again..)

2. Doctor office – So thankful that our local office could fit me in! (Thanks!)

3. Antibiotics – Found out that I have an infection, so once these antibiotics kick in, it is so nice to know this will be gone.

4.Daughters who do the dishes – While I’m writing this, I hear the girls behind me as they’re washing dishes. (Some of these are from baking one girl chose to do… mmmm!)

5. Our dear friend Matt – Matthew Pickut was a sharp, funny, talented, hyper-intelligent college friend who was a dearly-loved pastor and assistant speech coach in Plymouth, Indiana. Three or so years ago, Matt experienced septic shock, and after the coma that ensued for many, many days, he was never quite able to fully rejoin the world. Yesterday morning, he passed away. Why is this a “thankful” thing? Matt’s body was finished, but we join his wife Barbie, young daughter Abi, and other friends and family in rejoicing for the legacy he left and the promise before him.

(I first wrote this yesterday, but being sick made it not get posted when it was first completed in the evening. I had been too quick with #5, and that deserved a bit more thought that my groggy mind had offered. I am glad that I had extended my thirty days of writing of thanks to the girls’ school starting time – they begin classes August 12. Three to go! )

1 Comment

  1. Barbara Pickut said,

    August 8, 2015 at 7:21 am

    Thank you, Angie. He is terribly missed, and I wish we’d had him longer here, but I am so thankful that because of Christ he is free and whole, and we have hope and comfort.


Leave a Reply

