Thirty Days of Thanks – Day 30 – thankful for life!

When one still isn’t feeling stellar, there is still plenty of time to really ponder the beautiful parts of life. So here is today’s list of five bits of Upland life I’m thankful for:

  1. birthday Ivanhoes

    a “Happy Birthday sundae,” last December.

    Living near Ivanhoe’s This fabulous eatery is the home of 100 type of shakes and 100 kinds of sundaes, not to mention their wonderful drive-in-style dishes. (Their breaded tenderloin sandwiches have won awards, and the hamburger is ground fresh each day.) Hoe’s was loved by college students when I attended Taylor, but it is now just eight blocks from our house. Good reason for friends to visit, too! Need to see the menu in advance? Check it out online!

  1. a hummingbird briefly perched on the feeder at our window.

    a hummingbird briefly perched on the feeder at our window.

    Hummingbirds!Every morning and evening, if I’m sitting in my regular chair, I can watch finches or cardinals to the right, but more breathtaking is the hummingbird. Around the corner, l can watch the bird hover… she sometimes decides to perch on the plastic petals. This shot from lunchtime today found the little lady perching for a short rest. 🙂

  1. Lunch with my girls – I have been taking for granted fun lunches with my daughters. They usually end up as a “leftover” meal of some sort, but while we have fresh blackberries we sometimes have a “peanut butter and berries” sandwich. (fresher than jelly!)
  1. Sharing movies and memories – Since this is right before the girls’ first day of school, we were looking at “high school” movies they hadn’t seen yet, and T.R. and I thought it would be fun to watch “Pretty in Pink.”  I had fun letting the girls know what clothing was a bit like something I wore in high school… 😉 Ah, 80’s. (…though it wasn’t until the early 90’s that I obtained a hat much like the one Molly Ringwald wore in this movie. And I never actually saw the movie until T.R. and I picked up a few years ago. I was in junior high when it was in the theaters.)
  1. Good neighbors – Our friends who live across the street or a few doors down are loved and appreciated so much! Being a part of a “neighborhood” is more than just our small Upland community, but I love how a “neighbor” isn’t just somebody we wave to or share fresh tomatoes with. One of my modern heroes remains Fred Rogers, who taught people of all ages what it really meant to be a neighbor, 🙂

Thank you to all of my “neighbors” who have joined me through my thankful journey!

Leave a Reply

