Day 18 – Thirty Days of Thanks

thankful2

Today’s 5 Thankful things:

  1. RP Amish Inn MysteryReading through an entire book – As life throws curve balls my way, I rarely have the chance to read through for an entire book in one week, just for fun. But last week, I did! Many thanks to Rachael Phillips for writing more than a cozy mystery, but a heartfelt tale of a young, intelligent lady who searched for and found Amish roots she didn’t discover until she helped uncover the story of a shocking murder. I can’t recommend her book Secrets of the Amish Diary enough. (And if you enjoy bulldogs, you’ll fall in love with the dog, “Beans.”)
  1. Bagels and blueberries – Cream cheese and fresh blueberries atop a bagel were IMG_0571
    such a lovely breakfast feast this morning – many thanks to my daughter, Emily, for putting this together!
  1. DaisyFresh, cheery daisies – So nice!
  1. Our garden’s first okra of the season – Tender and tasty, I had to enjoy it raw – these okraare even better than I remembered. Yum!
  1. Queen Anne’s Lace – After bringing in daisies, Queen Anne's LaceEm also entered with two stems of Queen Anne’s lace, my favorite wildflower. I had a version of these in my wedding bouquet twenty-two years ago, and I’m sure people would pay good money to grow these in their gardens if they didn’t grow on their own.
2 Comments

  1. July 19, 2016 at 10:11 am

    Down south we steer clear of Queen Anne’s Lace, also known as chigger weed. Not something we had to consider in Indiana. Enjoy that okra. Yum!

    • Angie said,

      July 19, 2016 at 11:43 am

      Chiggers have been a problem before, but I haven’t had to face those for quite some time. What a sad thing to face those nasty buggers to gain the lovely bloom…(If they meant chiggers, I’d avoid the flowers also.)

      We did just discover that rabbits will stand on their hind legs to eat the tender new tops of okra plants. Same thing for pepper plants. So not quite as many peppers. Or okra. 😉


Leave a Reply

