Day 19 – Thirty Days of Thanks

thankful2

Today’s 5 Thankful things – keeping smiles alive:

  1. Dentists – I am thankful for a patient and talented dentist who helped us identify a problem back in early March. Thinking the extreme pain in my mouth was due to a cavity, he helped this girl who couldn’t even speak due to mouth pain… he found that it wasn’t a tooth, but he asked a funny question: “Have you ever had neurological problems?” He’s a new dentist to me, but he learned quickly that almost half of my life has been shaped by a mismanaged nervous system. When I saw Dr. Maddox yesterday, he was thrilled that I can speak and eat, while my tongue and teeth cooperate.
  1. Dental Hygienists – What a thankless job I think it would be to work at cleaning somebody else’s teeth. I can only imagine unpleasant breath that could emanate, and one wouldn’t be able to carry on a conversation with somebody while playing on their ivories. But Julie, Candice, and Stephanie have managed to help manage my dental stuff quite nicely – and always with a smile!
  1. Pasta – We always try to have soft food like pasta on days a daughter has an orthodontist appointment, and even though teeth cleaning doesn’t cause sore teeth, we enjoyed pasta last night. One doesn’t always need “reasons” for food choices. And this was a pasta dish that used zucchini, a very good thing.
  1. Toothbrushes and toothpaste – During March, the nerves in my tongue were uncooperative and recoiled when anything came near, particularly an electric toothbrush. I was so glad when medication helped tame those nerves, and my mouth could feel clean again.
  1. Reminder phone calls – I remembered this month’s appointment, but there are months that I don’t have it on the calendar. It’s then that I am extremely thankful for the little phone call I receive a day or two before an appointment, reminding me of an appointment I scheduled six months ago.
Leave a Reply

