a late poem… for my Knight/Charioteer

My Knight (tacking on even though National Poetry Month has passed)
By Angela Knight
A “knight in shining armor”
is who the stories say
will ride atop a charging steed
to chase my fears away.

But what if his armor loses shine,
is dented on its ride,
if he slips from his mount
as it falls out of stride?

No, my Knight can leave that weight behind,
a light coat will suffice –
a t-shirt, jeans, and dusty boots,
they need not be precise.

My Knight is just the perfect mix
of hero, friend and more-
this “Knight in faded denim”
is forever my amor.

Twenty-five years have come and gone,
we’ve meandered, hiked, and walked –
sometimes sat, sometimes tripped,
then we stopped to talk.

Decided feet could use some help,
Wheels could add support.
How lovely to join in this new way,
It could be our special sport.

So now my Knight can take my hand,
Then push with style and cheer…
You see, my Knight has now become
My Wheelchairioteer.

 

(Dedicated to my dearest Knight in Faded Denim… I love you, T.R.!!)

 

Follow this link to read about T.R.’s special encouragement to other “Wheelchair Charioteers – I look forward to watching this spread. I’m so proud of him!!

Author: Angie

I am a wife, a mother, a writer and a child of God. Since 1997, I've lived with multiple sclerosis, and I find that when life slows down, I am able to see more of the lessons that God has for me to learn.

2 thoughts on “a late poem… for my Knight/Charioteer”

Leave a comment