“That week”…

What am I talking about? Well, “MS Awareness Week,” March 10-16 2019, officially marked that week, though it seems repetitive to me. Every day, week, month I face symptoms of what has become my continuing journey. (Even though I managed to post this one day after the week ended, my daily  awareness level hasn’t changed. I just need to manage time more effectively.) This journey started for me in June 1997, and the scenery has changed along the way.

Angie MRI 2006
2006 photo of one slice of, Angie’s brain, scars included

For any interested in reading about the said “scenery,” I invite you to a 2017 post, “So what exactly does MS look like?”. When an otherwise functional nervous system is dinged around by a confused autoimmune system, it can wreak a bit of havoc. Not fun, and mostly invisible to the outside observer. My husband also posted about this particular week at his own blog, Freelance Knight. (Thank you, T.R.!)

Newer information has just been released by the National MS Society. I’m less alone than I used to think. Rather than 400,000, it is now estimated that almost a million people (942,000) are currently diagnosed with MS in our country. And one thing I know is true about this is that no two are alike. One excellent example of this is the courageous interview given by actress Selma Blair. I appreciate her willingness to be transparent and public with her struggle!

Though MS has painted paths of life I had not planned, I do know that faith and family continue to be key. Thankful for medical progress and assistance each day, I look forward  to seeing how God plans to use what I do  have, both joys and struggles. Thank you for joining me for a moment on this journey!

Author: Angie

I am a wife, a mother, a writer and a child of God. Since 1997, I've lived with multiple sclerosis, and I find that when life slows down, I am able to see more of the lessons that God has for me to learn.

2 thoughts on ““That week”…”

Leave a comment