“That’s what the promise is for”

It’s hard to believe that it’s been sixteen years since T.R. and I shared those vows, since we dressed up (he in a tux, me in a lacy white dress), while other close friends and family members wore particular matching things they rented or never wore again anyhow… but wow, sixteen years!  This seems like a drop in the bucket on one hand but quite a long time on another, when we look back at what those sixteen years have held: jobs, moves, graduate school, children, chronic illness, family and friends who have brought both joy and heaviness to our hearts… and I just heard a new song last week that encapsulated this all so beautifully.

Andrew Peterson is a writer and musician whose new album “Counting Stars” is to be released later this month, and the song “Dancing in the Mine Fields” was released online with a loving, moving video.  I find it ironic that T.R. and I are both graduates of a relatively conservative university where social dancing was not allowed, but our journey has still been one of “dancing in the mine fields, sailing in the storms.”  I love the closing sentiment of the touching song: “Well, this is harder than I dreamed, but I believe that’s what the promise is for.” 

Our rings weren’t from the pawn shop down the road, and our ages were slightly different than those in the lyrics, but the visualization of lifelong love is one that is so accurate.  At least so far. 

“Well,’I do’ are the two most famous last words
the beginning of the end.
But to lose your life for another, I’ve heard,
is a good place to begin.
‘Cause the only way to find your life
is to lay your own life down,
and I believe it’s an easy price
for the life that we have found.”

Our life does seem at times to be one of “dancing in the minefields,” which is precarious by definition. But as the song so beautifully states, I believe that’s an easy price to pay for the life that we have found.  We did take those sacred vows, and I agree with all my heart with the thesis of this beautiful musical poem: that’s what the promise is for.  Happy sixteenth anniversary, T.R.!

4 Comments

  1. T.R. said,

    July 16, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Beautiful song. Wonderful post. Thank you.

    You are the love of my life and my best friend. I will always be your Knight In Faded Denim.

    Happy Anniversary, Angie!

  2. Ruth said,

    July 19, 2010 at 5:52 am

    That’s lovely. Happy anniversary 🙂

  3. July 27, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    […] Open Thread (embedded below) is from the new album, and was first brought to my attention in an article written a couple weeks ago by my sister, along with a post written by Peterson, […]

  4. July 27, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    […] Open Thread (embedded below) is from the new album, and was first brought to my attention in an article written a couple weeks ago by my sister, along with a post written by Peterson, […] {this is a link to my brother’s other blog…}


Leave a Reply

