April has arrived ~ it’s poetry time!

national-poetry-month-horizontal

April is here, and spring is in the air. The season of growth and life around us doesn’t only bring leaves and blooms, but it also inspires the poetry in each of us. Yes, April is National Poetry Month!

To encourage any who wish to craft verse in honor of this special month, I thought I’d share again a piece I penned a few years ago. The first seeds in our garden were just planted last week, and it was when I planted lettuce seven years ago that I wrote this piece. (It also hails back to my science teacher days in the mid-90s, when we planted seeds and charted their growth, measuring and marveling at the miracle of “tropisms.”

So, happy poem-ing to the poets among us!

 

Tropisms

By Angela Knight

 

Diminutive as a speck of dust, the black seed glistens on my palm.This onyx-tinged grain holds promise; it encapsulates life.

They say that if I bury this bit into the soil, a stem will soon point upward as roots burrow into the dirt.

“Magic?” I ask.
“No – science,” they say. “Tropisms: stems go up, roots come down. That’s just how it is.”
“But why? How do they know? Where do tropisms come from?”

As I ponder, I hear a silent reply:
“It is I who created the constellations, the oceans, the peaks, the valleys, the beating hearts, the seeds.
And I AM.”

So with awe more expansive than the waters of the world, I unite this tiny beacon of hope with the earth. Rains come: geotropisms tug down, phototropisms pull up, and the Creator smiles.
It is good.


Published in Parnassus, Feb. 2012


 

If you are in the Upland area this weekend, check out the Barton Rees Pogue Poetry and Arts Festival!

 

…I will share other poetry related to life’s “invisible issues” later in the month.

1 Comment

  1. Miller, Janice said,

    April 5, 2017 at 10:58 am

    I like you poem!

    JANICE MILLER, MSM, BS. Ed.
    SITE COORDINATOR
    COLLEGE OF ADULT & PROFESSIONAL STUDIES

    INDIANA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITY
    1900 W. 50th STREET
    MARION, IN 46953

    765-677-2870 phone
    765-677-1411 fax
    800-621-8667 ext. 2870


Leave a Reply

