Day 17 – 30 Days of Thanks – Doctor Day!

Growing up in a medical sort of family, life was a bit different for me than some, I’m sure. For one, doctor’s offices weren’t frightening places. Physicians themselves weren’t intimidating to me, and I found that doctors could be found with different personalities, hobbies, specialties, sense of humor, the whole gamut. The same is certainly true of nurses, who would chat quite nicely with patients of all shapes and sizes. I even learned not to fear hospitals, as Sunday dinner would sometimes be purchased in a hospital cafeteria, then carted back to the Doctors’ Lounge if Dad was on Call. 

As life has progressed, I’m glad I learned to trust doctors. Also to be patient when they are delayed. And to appreciate the doctors and nurses who not only demonstrate a wealth of professional knowledge, but also show care and compassion.

So why the medical treatise? Well, today was what I call “Doctor Day.” The trifecta – a brain MRI, an hour-long medication infusion, then a visit with my friendly neighborhood neurologist. And I must say, there is plenty to be thankful for!

5 things of thanks on “Doctor Day”:

1. MRI – It is so nice that the doctors can view pictures of my brain without cracking my cranium! The spinning magnets around a tube in which I lay are truly fascinating! I wrote about this five years ago – this will explain what I mean when I share thanks that there were “no new glow worms” today. 🙂 (The doctor said there were no active lesions, but I knew he was really talking about those durn glow worms.)

2. nurses! – I must admit that I am generally partial to those in this profession, as my mother is an outstanding one. But I so appreciate the nurses in Fort Wayne, where I visit each month for my Tysabri infusion . They get thing going with a smile!

3. insurance folks – I so appreciate the behind-the-scenes folks who cut the red tape and jump through hoops needed to finance the medical hullabaloo that is our health system. Thank you!

4. Dr. Stevens – Since he offered my official diagnosis, Dr. Stevens has shown himself to be knowledgeable, trustworthy, caring, and more. We noticed today (his diploma was on the exam room wall) that the good doc graduated from medical school the same year T.R. graduated from college. So I don’t need to worry about him retiring too soon! 🙂

5. Dad – the doctor who first taught me to trust the medical profession, who demonstrates what a good doctor should be (with his work at the free clinic each week near their home), who gave me a ride to Fort Wayne today (as my dear husband got to take our daughter to the orthodontist at the same time in another part of the state). Thanks, Dad!

Leave a Reply

